Locals Win at 2014 Silver Wave Awards

Silver Wave Film Festival Award Winners 2014
Silver Wave Film Festival Award Winners 2014

On Saturday night, November 8th, the Annual Silver Wave Awards Show handed out major hardware to filmmakers from all over the world at a ceremony in Fredericton. The big winners ultimately were NB Filmmakers.

Congratulations to Miramichiers Andrew King, Cindy Trevors and Terry Power whose documentary film Still Fishing won an award for Best Low Budget Documentary Film!

Below is a list of all the award winners:

The Isaac ‘The Puma’ Miller Award for Best Youth Shorts in memory of young filmmaker/skateboarder/photographer Isaac Miller:

The Railroad Girl by Levi Marshall

Non à l’intimidation by École Sainte-Thérèse & Emilie Lastere

Catatonia by Caleb Vietinghoff

Best Next Gen Short: Trust by Devin Casario

Excellence in Music Composition: Christian Berube for zack and luc

Excellence in Art Direction: Andrew Long for 30 Pieces of Silver

Excellence in Sound Design: Alex Vietinghoff and Tracey Lavigne for Tracing Blood

Excellence in Picture Editing: Jesse Anthony for Crates

Excellence in Cinematography: F. Chris Giles for 30 Pieces of Silver

Best Experimental Film: Transfer by Chris Spencer Lowe

Best Low Budget Documentary: Still Fishing by Andrew King, Cindy Trevors and Terry Power

Best Horror Short: Oasis by Jared Carney

Best Canadian OR International Short: I am Syd Stone by Denis Theriault and Colin Davis

Best Documentary: Kung Fu Elliot by Jaret Belliveau & Matthew Bauckman

Lex Gigeroff Excellence in Screenwriting Award for a NB short Drama OR Comedy: Robert Gray for zack & luc

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Drama OR Comedy: Emily Bosse in Pop

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Drama OR Comedy: Seger Dow in Pop

Best NB Short Drama OR Comedy: zack & luc by Robert Gray

Best French Film: Aller-Retour by Gilles Doiron & Jean-Marc Goguen

Best Music Video: Motherhood: The News by John Pollack

2014 Jane LeBlanc Filmmaker Award: Lisa Jodoin for In Search of Laura Fearn

NB Joy Award: Fonya Irvine for Adrift Without an Anchor

Leave a Comment